Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: what came first - your disability or your riding?

Default what came first - your disability or your riding?

Question in the title Were you a rider before you had the problem you have? - or did the problem come first and then you took up riding anyway? And what are the challenges you've met along the way?

I was born with spina bifida but my arthritis (which causes most problems for me now) was after I started riding (my first lessons were when I was 7 then I had to give up until I was 12 as I had lots of surgery). So I was disabled first. I'm not going to say it hasnt been a challenge but I've always loved horses and always wanted to ride so I do it anyway! My main issues are with my ankle which has arthritis (was fused in march this year, Im starting riding again hopefully next week after over a year out). It means I struggle with my feet in the irons and with mounting & dismounting (plus I have nerve damage in both legs) so I get wobbly legs syndrome and lose my stirrups often so I end up with my feet right through the stirrups and my heels physically dont go down. I use a mounting block and ride short to keep my stirrups. But I manage! I just work out ways around things. I figure people can ride stirrup-less, so if I cant ride with them then I will just go without!

Hard to say, I was diagnosed with MS whilst studying for my AI, but at the time I had a very competitive boyfriend - we used to run a lap of Cadwell Park, then go swimming and finish off with a game of squash, then there was the mucking out and riding so I think my body was much abused! Needless to say, I no longer run, swim or play squash but will fight to keep riding. Had to stop riding for many years though as balance was shot and no feeling in my legs. My horse is the only way I can get to places I wouldn't be able to walk to so therapy in more ways than one.