Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What I've been up to (pic heavy!)

Default What I've been up to (pic heavy!)

Things have been quiet on the horsey front. It's winter, it's cold, it's wet, I'm aching - pretty much business as usual! River and Stormy are doing well (and looking lovely, if muddy!) and "little" Storm is growing like a weed. She'll be three in April. THREE!! Mr Sez and I seem to have reached a truce over the horses for the time being, so for the moment everything is just ticking along.

While I've been hibernating, I have thrown myself into a new take on an old hobby. My parents have been re-enacting since before I was born, so most of my earliest memories are of vikings and my mum is still heavily involved as education officer for her group (she's a teacher by profession) and has a small business making re-enactment clothing and equipment. My dad and step-mother also spent a number of years involved with fantasy LARP, so growing up I was always encouraged from both sides in making props and costumes for play.

As much as I love the history side of re-enacting and still get involved a bit when I visit my mum, my health means I'm not terribly reliable and while there's been a few occasions that I've gone tracking down info for local groups, I've seen from the other side how frustrating it is when someone can't follow through on their commitment. So, I decided to take up cosplay instead All the fun of creating costumes and props, without the pressure of being committed to a certain number of events and feeling like I have to stick around after a busy day to help clear up I've found myself a couple of friendly and encouraging groups on FB and I've been having an absolute whale of a time.